Parsons takes New York State Championship at Champion Speedway

Parsons takes New York State Championship at Champion SpeedwayPictured, is champion Jeremy Parsons of Vestal. Photo credit: Brian Bouder.

What was a smooth running, good night of racing, for the New York State Speedway Championships at Champion Speedway, unfortunately was marred with several unfortunate circumstances in the Main Event. After three attempts it concluded with Jeremy Parsons of Vestal taking the win and Adam Mittl of Endicott, who went undefeated on the night, but shook off a big crash in the second re-start after being down for quite a while, taking second. 

Rochester’s Dave Oakden had a solid night and ended up third. A crash brought about the first re-start and in the second try the ref accidentally turned the red light on at the end of lap one. 

The third and final race was the best race of the night though with Parsons and Mittl going four laps, shoulder to shoulder, and with Parsons winning the drag race to the line by inches.  

The last chance was an excellent race between Keith Hawkins and Corey Brookes. Brookes is riding very well for just coming back to the sport after a long layoff. The “Boogeyman” Johnny Lewis, a star back in the 80’s and 90’s, also rode very well and was third.

Champion Speedway host’s the next race on Aug. 12 in honor of the late Larry and Kathy McBride of Binghamton, who were former track workers and are the parents of Tuff and Lenny McBride, both multi-time Speedway Racing Champions and two of the best ever from the East Coast. 

The track is also planning the re-opening of the go-kart fun track by then, and will be hosting dirt go-kart and microd racing beginning on Aug. 20, promoted by local Demo Derby promoter Corey Relyea. Relyea has hosted two practices thus far that were well attended and there is a lot of exciting buzz about the kart races. He is planning off-road mud bogs and truck racing this fall as well.

For more information, visit

NYS CHAMPIONSHIP FINAL: 1 – Jeremy Parsons, 2 – Adam Mittl, 3 – Dave Oakden, and 4 – Casey Donholt / Keith Hawkins.

Last Chance/B Main: 1 – Keith Hawkins, 2 – Corey Brookes, 3 – John Lewis, 4 – Jerry Harman, and 5 – Spencer Portararo.

C Main: 1 – Spencer Portararo, 2 – Dan Oakden, 3 – Ron Walker, and 4 – Roger Roberts.

Div 2 Final: 1 – Jonny Scheg, 2 – Mason Higley, 3 – Chris Nealy, 4 – Mark Bradley, and 5 – Dalton Oakden.

Youth Final: 1 – Ethan Ervay, 2 – Anthony Speer, 3 – Ivy Phelps.

Dirt Bike Final: 1 – Layton Vargo  and 2 – Nadia Phelps.

Be the first to comment on "Parsons takes New York State Championship at Champion Speedway"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.