Tioga United Way holds annual meeting and awards dinner

Tioga United Way held its annual meeting and awards dinner at Tioga Downs on Thursday. The annual event was attended by board members, partner agencies and major donors.

At the annual meeting, John Knowlton was elected president; David Astorina was elected 1st vice president; Dorothy Richter was elected 2nd vice president; and Robert Jenson was elected treasurer. Other re-elections to the board were Dale Larson, Jane Maas and Connie Sternberg.

Challenges facing the Tioga United Way are continued declines in donors and dollars to the annual campaign. Brian Eldridge, executive director of the Tioga United Way, stated in his report that Tioga United Way will be participating in activities that will generate increased non-campaign revenues, as many other United Ways are doing to bridge the gap between partner agency needs and dollars raised.

Recognition awards were given to major donors that include Lockheed Martin, Tioga Downs, IBM, Tioga County Employees, Tioga State Bank, Chemung Canal, Visions FCU and Franziska-Racker. Twenty-two incentive gift baskets were distributed to individual donors, and three grand prizes were awarded and were provided by Olum’s and Tioga United Way.

To learn more about how you can support Tioga United Way, call (607) 687-4028 or visit www.tiogaunitedway.com.